The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group
13th Annual Holiday Dinner


Happy  Holidays  To  All !!!
A Very    Special   Thanks   To
Our Host, Marcy Brown - KJ4GYH,  John Unger - W4AU,  Jeff Slusher - KE5APC,
Bob Rodriguez - KJ4NXG and the Old Dominion Four Quartet, Mary Preston,
and Jay Ives - KI4TXP for arranging and conducting this outstanding event !

         The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group held its thirteenth Annual Holiday Dinner on Saturday, December 11, 2010 at the Harmony Hall in Hamilton, Virginia. A great time was enjoyed by all with plenty of fine food and fellowship. It was so nice to see all again this year.

         Marcy Brown - KI4GHY of Leesburg arranged the invitations and dinner selections, John Unger secured the Harmony Hall, Jay Ives, Dodson Brown, Mary Preston, and Norm Styer also helped set up tables and chairs and the arrangements.

         Bob Rodriguez - KJ4NXG of Round Hill and fellow members of the Old Dominion Four Quartet entertained us with great inspiring holiday songs.

         We recognized Norm Styer - AI2C with the first of what should be a new series of awards the Loudoun Amateur Radio Group Meritorious Service Award, for extraordinary contributions to building and maintaining the club's Internet Site and for his participation and contributions to all club activities. See below.

         We held our Outstanding Member of the Year Ceremony. This year the Outstanding Members Committee selected Jay Greeley - KI4UTB of Leesburg.Jay, thanks for all you do. See below.

         Jeff Slusher did an outstanding job on selecting gifts and running the door prize program. For a third time in six years, Kay and Norm Styer were the big winners. Merc Skaggs - N4TGA took home the number one prize, an Elecraft W2 Wattmeter, that was donated as a door prize.

         All fifty-plus of us will remember this outstanding evening of fine entertainment, fine food, fine gifts, and fine fellowship. Thanks to all who helped pull this one off !!!

Fine Food & Old Friends  (There are 27 photographs - let them flip)

Our Outstanding Member of 2010


The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group's
Outstanding Member For 2010 Award

The Annual Outstanding Member Award

Individual Dedication, Singularly Valuable and Innovative Contributions
to the
Furtherance of the Goals and Ideals
of the
Loudoun Amateur Radio Group of Virginia.

The Outstanding Member Of The Year Award Selection is a secret vote by all previous recipients
and is presented at our annual holiday dinner.


Jay Greeley - KI4UTB of  Leesburg
The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group's
Outstanding Member For 2010

~~~  The Citation   ~~~

    "The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group hereby recognizes the outstanding contributions of Jay R. Greeley, Sr. - KI4UTB of Leesburg, Virginia, for his outstanding support, attention to detail, and invaluable dedication as Chairman, LARG Training Committee, LARG Public Information Officer, Support Captain for K4LRG Field Day, the prime liaison for the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 1177 support. The Group thanks LTC Greeley for his Operation Iraqi Freedom tours of duty, and congratulates him on his recent retirement. He is also recognized for his valuable support to K4LRG Balloon Flight and Fox Hunt Operations, to many Reston Century rest station and SAG support operations, and Leesburg First Night Public Service operations, and his participation in the LARG Manassas and Berryville Hamfest Campaigns."
              Signed: LARG Outstanding Members Committee, December 11, 2010

Selected By The Outstanding Members Committee
The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group
December 11, 2010

Paul Dluehosh, N4PD - Outstanding Member for 1998
Gary Quinn, NC4S - Outstanding Member for 1999
Tom Dawson, WB3AKD - Outstanding Member for 2000
Norm Styer, AI2C - Outstanding Member for 2001
John Unger, W4AU - Outstanding Member for 2002
Carol Boehler, KF4TJJ - Outstanding Member for 2003
Tom Garasic, NA4MA - Outstanding Member for 2004
Dennis Boehler, KF4TJI - Outstanding Member for 2005
Charles Preston, K4LJH - Outstanding Member for 2006
Jeff Slusher, KE5APC - Co-Outstanding Member for 2007
Dave Putman, KE4S - Co-Outstanding Member for 2007
Jay Ives, KI4TXP - Outstanding Member for 2008
Rick Miller, AI1V - Outstanding Member for 2009

LARG Meritorious Service Award

Norm Styer - AI2C


Loudoun Amateur Radio Group

Meritorious Service Award

        COMMENDATION: For his extraordinary contributions in creating the club's outstanding web site for club members and visitors to learn about, and view our amateur radio club activities. Norm not only un-selfishly puts in many hours into creating the club web site but he participates and contributes is all of our club activities from nets, emergency communications, public service, training and operating events.

Door Prizes & Gifts

        Again this year, Jeff Slusher - KE5APC arranged a super selection of very fine door prizes. There were some big ticket items. Every gift will be put to good use. And again this year, those that brought extra tickets at 5 for $5.00 really made out. The winner pulled the next ticket. And, the Ladies took home the Poinsettias and Mary Preston's table settings..


And The Number One Winner

#1 Door Prize:

Elecraft W2 Wattmeter

Read About The Elecraft W2 Wattmeter

And The Winner Is:

Merc Skaggs - N4TGA
of Leesburg, Virginia
Thanks For Another Great Year. We Wish For Many More.
Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year to all !!!
Best Regards, Norm Styer - AI2C de Clarkes Gap, Virginia


About Us | Site Map | Contact Us | Established 13 September 1999, Copyright 1999-2010, All Rights Reserved by Loudoun Amateur Radio Group. See Credits Published In Announcements Section. Internet Hosting Provided As A Public Service By  MicroNeil Research Corporation