Photographed by Norm Styer - AI2C.   Reported by Norm Styer, AI2C.
Loudoun ARG, Purcellville, Virginia,   published @ K4LRG.ORG  on  December 27, 2012

A Very Special Thanks to Carol Boehler - KF4TJJ and John Unger - W4AU
for arranging this outstanding event !

Have A Very Merry Holiday Season !!!

      The Fifteenth Annual Loudoun Amateur Radio Group's Holiday Dinner was very special. Fine food, great friends, and many special awards for the very deserving highlighted the evening. And, we crowned another LARG Outstanding Member Of  The Year.

         We all met at the Harmony Hall in eastern Hamilton, Virginia on Saturday, December 8, 2012. Carol Boehler, KF4TJJ, arranged the announcements and invitations. John Unger, W4AU, secured the Harmony Hall. Everyone brought great potluck stuff. There was plenty for all. Thanks for a great job of  setting everything up.

         We sang Happy Birthday to Dave Boltson, WA4TXE,  for his 65th.

         The evening awards program by Gary Quinn, NC4S, was special with many deserving receiving recognition.

         Not often does a radio club have such great accomplishments in one year: 1st Place in 5A in the ARRL 2012 Field Day, capturing the Top Commonwealth CW Awards in the 2012 Virginia QSO Party and many special accomplishments in the 1st Annual Marathon Award.

         Carol Boehler, KF4TJJ, did an outstanding job of arranging the "White Elephant" Gift Exchange. It was pretty much divided between Radio and Non-Radio Stuff. Everyone was happy with their picks.

         And,  we held our Outstanding Member of the Year Ceremony for John Westerman, WB5ODJ, of Lovettsville, Virginia.

         All forty-plus of us will remember this one. Thanks to all who pulled this one off !!!
Plenty Of  Fine Desserts

Great Old Friends

John Unger - W4AU

Of Hamilton, Virginia

Henry Weidman - K2BFY

Of Sterling, Virginia

The Browns of Leesburg

Nicholas,   Dodson - AJ4EY,  Marcia - KJ4GYH, and  Patrick - KJ4GYI

Dick Maylott - W2YE

Of Leesburg, Virginia


Margaret - AI4UX and Frank Gentges - KØBRA

of Great Falls, Virginia

  Carol - KF4TJJ  and Denny Boehler - KF4TJI

Of Leesburg, Virginia

Jeff - KE5APC and Patti Slusher

Of Leesburg, Virginia

John Shell - K3US

Of Fairfax, Virginia

Sally - K4NOB and Luther Guise - K5NOB

of Leesburg, Virginia

Rick Miller - AI1V

Of Reston, Virginia

Bryan - KG4UPR and Tanya Stephens

Of Ashburn, Virginia

Kay and Merc Skaggs - N4TGA

of Leesburg, Virginia

Gene Harrison - N3EV

of Leesburg, Virginia

Dave - KE4OKY and Joan Wendland

Of Leesburg, Virginia

Norm - AI2C and Kay - KA2IJU Styer

of Clarkes Gap, Virginia

Charles - K4LJH and Mary Preston

of Hamilton, Virginia

Rick Denney - KR9D and XYL

of Lovettsville, Virginia

Mrs. anf Dave Boltson - WA4TXE

of Charles Town, West Virginia

Gloria and John - WB5ODJ - Westerman

of Lovettsville, Virginia

Carol Is Calling For The White Elephant Gift Run

Loudoun Amateur Radio Group Recognizes
Special Support For 2012 K4LRG Field Day


A Special Thanks For A Once In A Lifetime Achievement and Adventure

#1 In USA & Canada
In 2012

Gary Quinn, NC4S
Our 2012 Field Day Chairman, recognized many for their special support of our winning operation.

Those Receiving Certificate of Appreciation Awards:

Dave Putman, KE4S   - Station Captain
Jeff Crawford, KØZR - Station Captain
Sven Duhme, DF9MV - Station Captain
Norm Styer, AI2C - Station Captain
Paul Dluehosh, N4PD - Station Captain
Rick Denney, KR9D - Station Captain
Dave Wendland, KE4OKY - Station Captain
Jay Ives, KI4TXP - Station Captain
Jeff Slusher, KE5APC - Station Captain
Doug Johnson, KJ4BRN - Station Captain
Chris Patton, W3CUM - Station Captain
Frank Gentges, KØBRA - Station Captain
John Unger, W4AU - Station Captain
Dennis Boehler, KF4TJI - Fix Trailer Tower


Certificate of Recognition:

Nicole Klien
Food Support

Certificate of Outstanding Contribution:

John Unger, W4AU
605 QSO’s

Chris Patton, W3CUM
400 Bonus Points

Special Commendation:

Jay Ives, KI4TXP
All His Support For
Field Day

LARG 2012 Marathon Award Winners
Originated and Managed By Gary Quinn - NC4S

The 2012 Marathon Announcement

Norm Styer - AI2C


The Prestigious
LARG 2012
Unlimited Marathon Award

AI2C - Norm Styer
With A Total Of 298 with 258 Countries
and 40 Zones Worked in 2012

Others Receiving Marathon Awards:

KØZR - Jeff Crawford:
Unlimited CW

KS1G -Steve Green:
Formula 1 Digital

KE4S - Dave Putman:
Unlimited SSB

KJ4VTH - Bill Robbins:
Formula 2

LARG 2012 Virginia QSO Party Winners



LARG Members
For 2012 Virginia QSO Party Operation

Jeff Crawford - KØZR
Receives Virginia Commonwealth Award for High Single Operator, CW Mode, High Power

Gary Quinn - NC4S

Virginia Commonwealth Award for High Single Operator, CW Mode, Low Power

Norm Styer - AI2C
(Above Right)


2nd Place Award in Commonwealth for Single Operator, CW Mode, High Power for operating K4LRG at his AI2C Station

The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group's
Outstanding Member of 2012

The Outstanding Member Of The Year Award is voted upon by all previous recipients and is presented at our annual holiday dinner.

The Annual Outstanding Member Award Recognizes Individual Dedication, Singularly Valuable and Innovative Contributions to the Furtherance of the Goals and Ideals of the Loudoun Amateur Radio Group of Virginia.

Selected By The Outstanding Members
The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group
December 8, 2012

Paul Dluehosh, N4PD – Outstanding Member for 1998
Gary Quinn, NC4S – Outstanding Member for 1999
Tom Dawson, WB3AKD – Outstanding Member for 2000
Norm Styer, AI2C - Outstanding Member for 2001
John Unger, W4AU – Outstanding Member for 2002
Carol Boehler, KF4TJJ – Outstanding Member for 2003
Tom Garasic, NA4MA – Outstanding Member for 2004
Dennis Boehler, KF4TJI – Outstanding Member for 2005
Charles Preston, K4LJH – Outstanding Member for 2006
Jeff Slusher, KE5APC – Co-Outstanding Member for 2007
Dave Putman, KE4S – Co-Outstanding Member for 2007
Jay Ives, KI4TXP - Outstanding Member for 2008
Rick Miller, AI1V - Outstanding Member for 2009
Jay Greeley, KI4UTB - Outstanding Member for 2010
Luther P. Guise - K5NOB - Outstanding Member for 2011

John Westerman - WB5ODJ of Lovettsville

~~~  The Citation   ~~~

     "The Loudoun Amateur Radio Group hereby recognize the outstanding contributions of John Westerman - WB5ODJ of Lovettsville, Virginia, for his outstanding support, attention to detail, invaluable dedication and excellent stewardship of the LARG and his hosting of the K4LRG Field Day Operation from 2009 through 2012, for his highly reliable Field Day WI-FI Network, for sponsoring and organizing the Loudoun Amateur Radio Group's public service communications support for the 2008 through 2012 Lovettsville Oktoberfest, and for organizing the 2012 communications support and net control station for the Reston Bicycle Club's Century Ride across Loudoun County. He is also recognized for his recent achievement of Extra Class License status, his operating skills in the Virginia QSO Party, and his super participation in the weekly HF, Digital, and VHF Radio Nets of the Loudoun Amateur Radio Group. "


We all had a great ride in 2012
and we all resolve that 2013 will even be greater.

Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year to all !!! Best Regards, Norm Styer - AI2C de Clarkes Gap, Virginia

Five Star Edition: December 27, 2012